The First Real Snow of 2012

I’m getting a lesson on patience right now.

Yesterday, weather forecasters in the area were calling for a considerable snowstorm (2-6 inches). The snowfall was supposed to start last night and carry on through today and tomorrow.

I love snow. I spend a great amount of time in the woods when it snows, hiking to the tops of mountains in the area, and I am always taken by the landscape below snuggled beneath a white blanket. There is also something about how the snowfall stifles sound and makes the woods even more peaceful than before. And the trip back down? Well, I’ve never been skiing, but I enjoy pouncing down the mountain as if I were on skis, bounding from side to side, leaning to the left, to the right. And if I fall, I am usually rewarded with a quick slide down on my bottom, dodging trees, ditches, and rocks. What may seem like childish antics to the common observer ends in laughter, sweat, and a fun workout for me.

But since I woke up this morning around 7:00, the snow has been falling in tiny flakes, a little at a time, just enough to dust the ground, cars, and homes with powdery greatness. But far from the 2-6 inches that I dream of every winter. For the past four hours I’ve watched it snow, melt, snow again, melt again, snow heavy, melt again, and now it is falling in tiny, sparkling flakes.

I love that God has filled me with so much passion for His creation. I don’t have to look far to find joy and fulfillment. I am still mesmerized by glowing sunsets, thunderstorms, and heavy snowfall. But sometimes the clouds block the sunset, thunderstorms can be disappointing, and (darn it) snowfall especially can be elusive and disappointing.

I just looked out the window after writing that last paragraph and the flakes have grown both in size and number.

Sometimes, our patience is rewarded. A few more hours of this and I will be ready to put on my winter gear and step outside.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The First Real Snow of 2012

  1. anna dubois says:

    I like the snow too.

Leave a Reply

