A Couple of Things

On  a brighter note, I do have a couple of things to share.

A few months ago, I was contacted by Brian Sweeney, a regional field director with ONE.org. ONE is a group started by Bono that works to help end global poverty, HIV/AIDS and other preventable diseases all over the world. Brian was looking for some local volunteers to recruit more ONE members and help spread the word about ONE campaigns and events. ONE uses possibly the most powerful tool in our country: awareness. ONE members write to officials, attend rallies, and use social media as a weapon against issues that plague our world. Last month, I encouraged 21 people to fill out post cards and send them to the White House to encourage President Obama to push the G8 to discuss agricultural solutions to poverty in some of the world’s poorest areas. And just today, I planned a get-together at a nearby Starbuck’s for some surprise ways to make a difference through technology, ONE.org and its newest parter (RED).

I have also been in touch with City on a Hill Productions, a Christian film ministry in Kentucky, in hopes of hosting a movie event for the film “Not a Fan”, based on Kyle Idleman’s book of the same title. The date to show the film is set (June 26th, 7 pm) and the theater approved (Alban Arts and Conference Center, St. Albans, WV). I’ve been emailing and calling churches in the area for the past two days.

Recently, a term arose that I might have applied to myself: slacktivist. Check the infographic below.

A few months ago, I would have described myself as a slacktivist, and in some ways I still am. But when I consider the things I have “done” in the past month, I think I’m on my way to becoming a full-fledged activist. Don’t worry, I’m not going to cover myself in blood and lay on the White House steps or anything, but I really feel like I am on my way to following the commands of Jesus to love others, to care for “the least of these”.

And it fills me with joy.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

