End of Excuses…

It is officially the end of the school year. Teachers have two more days, and then we are finished.

Sometimes i’m a lot harder on myself than I should be. In retrospect, I really messed this year up. Anyone on the outside looking in may not have noticed. My students probably didn’t even notice. But I noticed. I taught with the vigor and enthusiasm of someone who has been at it too long ( which I haven’t) and is tired of it (which I’m not).

Sure, great things happened this year (see previous posts), but there was just something missing in me that I remember having years ago, some kind of spark of excitement that lifted me out of bed every morning and into the classroom.

I’m not going to speculate on the cause. I’m just going to offer a solution.

This is the end of excuses.

No more excuses about why I don’t write more often.
No more excuses about why I don’t teach the hard stuff.
No more excuses about why I’m afraid to give my students the freedom to take what they learn into their own hands.
No more excuses about why I yell more than I smile.
No more excuses about why I don’t pray more often.
No more excuses about why I can’t read as fast as some of my friends.

I could go on, but then I would need to make an excuse for the habit of going on and on about something.

This is the end of excuses and the beginning of a rejuvenation, a journey to find that spark again.

Wish me luck.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Education, Life, Teaching, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of Excuses…

  1. You know you’re being too hard on yourself, of course. Mistakes and failure are misnomers. They don’t, in fact, exist. Learn from them, grow from them, embrace them, even. Educators are sculptors, and your kids are your block of marble. Each attempt gets you closer to creating a masterpiece. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

