Thrifty

I think I am officially obsessed with Goodwill and thrift stores. Over the past few months I have spent maybe $10 on sweaters, pants, and jackets. It is just so easy to get a deal in thrift stores. Plus, it gives me an opportunity to express myself with a mix of formal, casual, and even vintage clothes.

Goodwill has the dollar deals where a certain tag color is only $1. I’ve found name brand clothes, high quality sweaters and some blazers for just a dollar. Who can pass that up. I’ve even found some clothes never worn with the tags still on them.

So now, much of my wardrobe is thrift store goodies. There is a list of reasons why I justify shopping at a thrift store instead of a department store.

  1. Corporations make me angry.
  2. I save money.
  3. Goodwill is a non-profit organization.
  4. I save money.
  5. Vintage clothes are awesome.
  6. I save money.
  7. It’s better for the environment… something about saving clothes from being thrown away and keeping new ones from being produced.
  8. I save money.
  9. I’m learning to be a more thoughtful consumer.
  10. I save money.

This winter is going to be incredible since most of my purchases in the last few months have been sweaters and jackets. I have a 100% lambswool sweater waiting to be worn, along with a really awesome leather jacket.

I will leave you with this infographic I found. Turns out West Virginia is the thriftiest state in the nation. Hope this inspires you to pick out your next wardrobe at a thrift store near you:

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

