The Facebook Status that Almost Wasn’t

I just posted one of the longest Facebook status messages of my life. I’m not a big Facebook user. I prefer Twitter because the statuses are short, but powerful. As Propaganda says, “I’ve convinced myself they last longer that way.”

But when God puts something on my heart, I feel like it needs to be said. Sometimes the words pour out before I have a chance to stop them. Sometimes I stumble, stammer, and stutter. Sometimes I worry the people who read/hear my words will flee immediately afterwards and I’ll never see them again. I don’t like confrontation.

These words had to come out.

They came to me as I was reading the gospels, fascinated by Jesus and His unconditional love that is amazing, frightening, unsettling, and unnatural.

I’ll just post the message and you see for yourself. Keep in mind that I almost didn’t post it.

“Jesus began His ministry after 40 days without food. He fed 5,000 after learning that one of His closes friends had been beheaded. He washed His disciples’ feet AND DID NOT SKIP JUDAS even though He knew he would betray Him. He offered Himself at the Passover meal, even though He knew He would die soon. And He spent the hours before His arrest praying. THE TIME FOR EXCUSES IS OVER!”

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Jesus, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

