Mistakes

I’m trying not to feel too bad.

My manager at the movie theater is a really good guy. Good to work for, fun to be around, and full of uncanny patience and understanding.

But I may have screwed up.

I’m sure it’s not as bad as it sounds, but my heart sinks and the more I think about what I did, the worse I feel about it because it is one of those things where my mistake might get someone else in trouble.

Last week, the manager trusted me to drive to Lowe’s and pick up some cans of bee killer. The most adventurous experience of my day was dodging a few hundred honey bees as they buzzed around the outside trashcans while I sprayed them in mid-flight with bee killer. I grinned as most of them dropped to the ground or into the can or zipped away in a desperate attempt to save their lives. Not a single bee managed to get its stinger in me that day and I am still proud of this accomplishment.

My pride disappeared after I went back inside.

“Do you have the receipt?” my manager asked. The words stung more than any bee could have because at that moment I wasn’t 100% sure where I had left it. I knew it was probably in my car somewhere, and I told him that along with a promise that I would bring it in later.

Well, guess what? A week later, I get a text. “Dude! Don’t suppose you have that receipt? Bring tomorrow?” My stomach turned.

Why didn’t I just do what I said I was going to do and bring the receipt to him that day?

There is a joke to this, though.

I have two great faults. Procrastination and leaving things somewhere and not remembering where I left them. This receipt mistake was a classic and destructive combination of the two. And worse, it was a mistake whose consequences would fall on someone else.

It bothers me that my mistakes can have an impact on others.

The good news is that I did find out that Lowe’s will send you a copy of the receipt if you give them some information. That’s a relief.

But I just can’t help feeling bad about it because I know it won’t be the last time one of my screw-ups affects someone else.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Life, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

