The Overcoming Life by D.L. Moody

I just needed a throwback to some classic preaching. As if an answer to prayer, I received a copy of D.L. Moody’s The Overcoming Life. I posted a review on Goodreads earlier today.

The Overcoming LifeThe Overcoming Life by D.L. Moody

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If you’re tired of contemporary messages that are watered down by culture and feel-good “self-help” inspiration and contain very little Gospel, you must read some D.L. Moody. This is the way preachers used to get it done, when the message was about bringing people to Jesus and “inspiring” them to follow Him in obedience and in love.

I deeply appreciate D.L. Moody’s simple, but convicting way of delivering the Gospel. Reading his words made me long for something that has been lost in a lot of churches in America today: true, Biblical power preached in such a way that it inspires those who hear it and brings them to the feet of Jesus. I wouldn’t call Moody’s preaching old-fashioned because that would suggest the messages are dated and not applicable to our lives today. No, this message, like the Word that inspired it, is universal, timeless, and applicable to the walk of every Christian struggling to maintain their identity in Christ in a word that rejects Him.

Read this, let its message sink in. Be changed by Moody’s powerful prose and divinely inspired directions. This will be a message that will stick with you.

View all my reviews

And the message does stick with you. I don’t know how familiar you are with Moody, but his gift as a preacher is a rare and very welcome mingling of conviction and love. He uses anecdotes, humor, and sound Gospel doctrine to strike straight to the reader’s heart and bring them to the heart of Christ.

I need that every day, some message or Bible verse or sermon that turns my focus back to Jesus. The world can be overwhelming and if I’m not living for Christ, then the world is overcoming me.

Change your life right now. Moody’s The Overcoming Life is also available for free on the Kindle, as well as a few of his other sermons.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Books, Christianity, Church, Jesus, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

