Surviving the Holidays

The holidays are always difficult for me. If I’m not careful, bitterness sets in like winter fog and I lose sight of what really matters. Each year, someone is sick, or arguing, or using the season to push an agenda.

This year, amid family struggles and an ill grandfather, I tired of the battle between some Christians and the rest of the world over who was “stealing” Christmas. Who can steal what God gave? Who can take away that Jesus was born, lived, died, and was resurrected for each of us? Call the holiday whatever you want. Jesus was born, prophecy was fulfilled, salvation was won.

Meanwhile, life happened. My grandfather healed and was out of the hospital before Christmas. Family arguments were kept at bay. And it really was a Merry Christmas.

Now, as the new year begins, I’ve had some time to think about last year’s blessings and challenges, how I grew through each trial, and how lucky I am to still be healthy and happy.

The only resolution I have made is to fix my heart and mind on whatever God has in store for me, to walk as closely to Jesus as I can, and to not beat myself up so much when I fail.

Oh, and of course I plan to write more often.

Hope everyone had a great holiday. Happy New Year.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

