Far Too Long

What am I doing here?

I was embarrassed to realize my last post was over a year ago. A lot has happened, enough that I don’t know where to begin. I’ve changed schools twice, from a Career Center to a collaborative program between Kanawha County Schools and the University. I’m going to be living like a professor, but on a public school teacher salary. My office is on campus and my classrooms will be on campus. Just a few steps away from becoming Dr. Lilly.

Our family has grown. We adopted our foster daughter, Gracelynn Brooke-Ariel Lilly. After 743 days in foster care, she legally became our daughter. She is a very special little girl with a sweet smile, and it is inspiring to watch her grow in so many ways. We also adopted a kitten, a spry little fella, so full of energy and life. We named him Ashes because of his sooty colored fur.

So why have I returned? Certainly it isn’t just so I can give you a play-by-play of my life since my last post. It isn’t just to give you an update on my life and all its changes in the past 18 months. No.

I’m here because I need to be.

I’ve read a few blog posts from the experts about what blogging really is and what blogging should be. Many of the blogs hail the medium as a way to “market” something to a broad audience. Some blogs bemoan the use of blogging as a way to just babble on in order to get attention, gain followers, and “be heard.” And still others demonstrate the opportunities for blogs to offer some real value to readers, something that could actually change perspective, make readers think, and maybe even have some sort of impact on the world.

And then there are the blogs like mine that are more for the writer than the reader. It’s not that I don’t appreciate readers. Of course I do. But as I look back on past posts, especially the personal ones, I realize I need to be writing this blog again, to remember why writing has captivated me since I was a child.

A few of those blogs I read mentioned how bloggers should offer something to readers they can’t get anywhere else. I’m afraid I only have one thing to offer:

Myself.

I have to be honest. This blog is full of me. It’s the story of me. It contains other characters, of course, most that are a lot more interesting than me: heroes and villains, saints and sinners, who come and go and come back again. But ultimately it’s my story. This blog contains some of my best and worst writing, but I’ve left it just as it is because it’s still me.

And so, dear reader, if you’re still with me I invite you to continue this adventure with me. As the description says, I’m an optimistic, ADHD, outdoorsy Jesus follower, husband, father, and high school teacher. I get very passionate about issues that matter to me, and I share other posts and articles about issues that matter to me. I need this blog because it is the perfect place for me to be me…in writing.

If you’re new to my blog and you don’t have time to sink back into every past post, I encourage you to read my Jesus Wept posts. Just search “Jesus Wept” in the search bar on the right of this page.

It’s great to be back.

 

 

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Fatherhood, Life, Love, Parenting, Teaching, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

