Ouch and My First Day

So yesterday I fell through our back porch. It’s not as bad as it sounds, but it hurts worse than it looks. I was climbing down from the roof and onto the railing of the porch when I lost my balance and dropped onto the porch. I landed on a board that was already a little loose and it flipped up and I fell through. I was lucky, though, as nothing is broken (except the board) and all it cost me was a trip to Urgent Care, some severe bruising and swelling around my knee, and occasional burning pain through the front of my knee.

Today was the first day with my students. So I hobbled to my office, hobbled to my classroom, and swallowed back groans of pain throughout the day so I could keep it positive with my new students. Without sharing too many details, I am already amazed at their wit, their mannerisms, and their sense of humor. At the risk of pre-judging, I can already tell that many of these students are exceptional in a variety of ways. I look forward to working with them.

The responsibilities are adding up, though, as I learn more about what is expected of me in the collaborative program. This is not a bad thing. I want to be challenged as a professional, but it is a little overwhelming. And the first day, the first week, is always chaos even in a traditional school setting. I can only imagine how exciting and exhilarating it will be next week when the college courses start. Several of my students have professors who worked at the university when I was a student, so I look forward to the chance to work with them to help my students be successful in their class.

In case you’re not aware of what the University Collaborative Program is, this comes from the website: “The mission of the University Collaborative Program is to provide challenging instruction to at-risk students in a collegiate setting. We serve as a liaison between Kanawha County Schools and West Virginia State University to prepare students for success in the 21st century.” [emphasis mine].

I look forward to being a part of every bit of that. I’ll just try not to injure myself anymore.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in Education, Life, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

