Polar Plunge Update

It’s getting closer! In less than a month, I will jump into a 4-foot pool of ice water wearing nothing but swimming trunks. All to raise funds for the Special Olympics. So far, donations have reached $285, getting even closer to the goal of $350.

My training has been going well. Last week, when it snowed 2-3 inches, I went outside shirtless and shoeless and rolled around in the snow. I laid back in it to see how long I could stay. It was nice to look up at the sky and watch the snowflakes as they fell on my face. I lasted a little less than a minute, and even then it was mostly because I had other things to do. I could feel the tingle and slight burning on my skin, but nothing intolerable. If you’re thinking Couldn’t you get frostbite or hypothermia? I encourage you to do the research. I also took a 25 minute walk shirtless in basketball shorts. I wore shoes because the road was icy and I didn’t want to fall.

I’m still taking cold showers every morning. If you’ve never done this, it is both invigorating and refreshing. For someone not used to cold water exposure, it’s miserable for the first week or so. But eventually…it’s still kind of miserable some days but also gives me a needed jolt in the morning to wake me up.

The weather this week has not really been conducive to training for cold. Yesterday, it was almost 70 F most of the day. But I spent as much time outside as possible. If not for work, I would have worn shorts all day. I look forward to more cold weather.

About Jason

I am a Jesus follower, husband and father, high school teacher, hiker, writer, lover of the outdoors, theater, music, books, and movies.
This entry was posted in fitness, health, Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

